A Food View

So far today has been great.  I don’t get to just relax very often on a weekend…especially since I was training for a half marathon.  Usually I always find things to do with myself, but today has been perfect.  First we woke up and went for a nice easy shorter run…probably about 2 miles.  This was my first day out since the half marathon since I was and still am trying to rest my feet.  The run felt good, but it’s amazing how quickly you can lose your stamina without running for a short time.  Here I am before heading out.DSC01022

We included a stop at Barnes and Noble and Starbucks for some magazines and iced coffee in our morning run. 

So I didn’t post yesterday, and didn’t talk about my dinner from Thursday night either.  I don’t plan to write about and photograph everything I eat here, but a lot of it will be here…especially when it’s something I love or it’s new and different.  Since this blog is new, and you don’t really know what I eat, I thought I would make a little collage of all of the breakfast, lunch,and some dinner items I’ve had over the last two days. 

Gallery of Food 8.29.09

To sum up the above picture…I eat a lot of fruit during the week.  I usually eat fruit at least 3 times a day.  My favorites are berries; strawberries, blackberries, and rasberries.  We also had some great plums, grapes, and honeydew melon this week.  I’ve seen a lot of people on blogs making salads out of kale.  I tried this also this week.  Unfortunately the kale I bought seemed a little dried out, but the salad was still flavorful.  I topped it with sliced yellow pepper, heirloom tomatoes, cucumber, and summer squash along with lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper.  I also love eggs with vegetalbes.  This week, I found an avocado squash at the green market near my office.  It really looked like avocado and it tasted amazing with a little spinach in my eggs.  I also added some salsa to my eggs which I absolutely love.  For breakfast, I eat some form of greek yogurt almost everyday.  Some of the chobani flavors are great, but I also like good old plain fage.  Another thing I eat a lot is chex cereal.  I mainly eat the rice and corn chex since they aren’t sweet.

I tried a few new things this week too, the fresh honey roasted peanut butter pictured above is from Stew Leonards.  It has the perfect consistency and goes really well on top of gluten free english muffins.  I also ate a Garden Lites cauliflower soufle this week.  I found these vegetable dishes at my local grocery store.  They are all great, low calorie and gluten free.  I think the cauliflower is the best.

Do you like trying and finding new foods?  Have you found anything great lately?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

