Tomato Pie

DSC01107

This Tomato Pie was an amazing summery treat.  This recipe stems from a status post of a former co-worker on facebook who recenbly had Tomato Pie for dinner.  Before that time, I had never even heard of tomato pie even though it is a southern food.  Her tomato pie was from a restaurant, so I was determined to find a recipe that was easy to make gluten free and on the healthier side.  I bought several different types of tomatoes at this week’s greenmarket, so I knew this would be a great dish.

DSC01101

To make the crust…

  • 2 packed cups of grated potatoe (I used the plain hashbrown mix you can find in the grocery store)
  • 2 eggs
  • grated onion

First make sure as much of the water as you can is out of the potatoes and onion.  Beat the eggs in a bowl, and add the potatoe, and mix together.  Then add the onion.

Spray a pie plate with cooking spray and use the back of a spoon to make a crust in the pie plate.  Cook the crust for 35-40 minutes at 425.

To make the inside of the pie..

  • 4 good sized tomatoes
  • italian seasoning
  • oregano
  • cheese variety of your choice
  • 3/4 light mayo
  • bread crumbs (I used gluten free)

Fill the potatoe crust with a layer of tomatoes and top with italian seasoning and oregano.  Then layer more tomatoes on top.

DSC01102

Mix the mayo with an assortment of cheese.  I used a mix of parmesan, mozzarella, and mexican cheeses.  It should be pretty thick.  Also mix in more italian seasoning.  Here is my mixture.

DSC01103

Drop dollops of cheese mixture on top of the pie to form a crust.  Then sprinkle bread crumbs on top.  Bake for another 30 minutes or until the bread crumbs are crispy and browned.  Here is what a slice looked like.

DSC01113

This truly was delicious and so colorful.  On the side we had some russian kale from the green market.  It was so good too.

DSC01106

The recipe I based my tomato pie from is here.

I changed many parts of it, but you can make yours to your likings based on the recipe.

We only have a half day today at work, and I’m running some errands including a trip to Costco.  We’re having a big BBQ tomorrow that my husband has been hosting since well before my time.  This is the first year we will have a baby at the event.  We’re getting older that’s for sure.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

