Food Coma

Mike took me out tonight to celebrate my birthday.  There are several restaurants on Long Island that have gluten free menus.  One of those restaurants is Italian, and I’ve wanted to try it for a while now.  The only problem is that this restaurant is pretty far from where we live.  The name of the restaurant is Mama’s.  It is located in Oakdale, NY.  This meal was simply amazing for both my gluten eating husband and myself.  I have never walked into a restaurant and been given a full menu with pages from which to order.  My menu was about the same size as Mike’s.  Simply Great is all I have to say about that. 

I do have one disclaimer.  This is an overall healthy eating blog with a concentration on gluten free eating.  Tonight’s meal was definitely far from healthy and way too much food for any person to consume in one sitting.  Being that I could order anything I wanted gluten free, it just made me really indulge myself.  This is definitely ok for me on a random basis…it’s just that when this happens over and over again that it can get out of control.  I guess it’s good that I’m fasting on Monday.

Now back to this meal.  First we shared an order of Gluten Free Fried Calamari.DSC01542  They also brought me a piece of gluten free bread, and I ordered a glass of chianti.DSC01539DSC01540  The calamari was just like the real thing.  I couldn’t believe that it looked so much like the gluten filled calamari of my past.  This was served with marinara sauce and sliced lemon to squeeze on top.  It really was amazing.  The bread was just ok.  It is really hard to make good gluten free bread, so I understand the challenges.  I was just happy that I had something to dip into my pasta dish.  Here’s Mike showing how much he liked dinner.DSC01545..and me too!DSC01546  I forgot that my dinner also came with a pretty large salad.  I happily shared with Mike because I wanted to be able to eat as much of my main meal as possible.  I ordered spaghetti with mussels, shrimp, calamari, and scungilli in a red sauce.  I didn’t even realize until today that I have not had the spaghetti shaped pasta at all since becoming gluten free.  Here’s me and my food.DSC01547  Sorry that Mike chopped my head off.  Mike ordered the gluten baked ziti with a side of meatballs.  He loved it.  He put it in the category with two other Italian restaurants where he loves the baked ziti.  That is saying a lot for a baked ziti connoisseur.  Here he is with his food.DSC01549  You can see how hot the food was.  We both took home leftovers because it was just so much food.  I probably ate a quarter of my entree and mike about half of his.  Since it was my birthday this week, Mike asked them to bring out a dessert with a candle in it.  Unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture with the candle lit.  Here it is after I blew it out.DSC01551  This was a flourless chocolate torte.  They also have cannolis, cheesecake, and rice pudding that is all gluten free.  I really enjoy eating at restaurants that are known for their gluten free food, but where Mike or other gluten eating friends can also enjoy the food.  Mike couldn’t stop talking about his meal tonight.  Mama’s truly did us well. 

Mama’s also makes their own gluten free pizza crust.  I couldn’t go to a restaurant like that and not bring home a pizza to eat another day.  I never would have ordered a baked ziti pizza before, but for some reason I decided to try the gluten free baked ziti pizza.  When I eat it I’ll have to let you know how it is.  We will definitely be going back to Mama’s again soon.

With such a heavy meal tonight, it was good that I started off with a nice run.  Mike and I went for a short and slow run which was almost harder for me today.  Since he hadn’t run in a while, we went really slow.  This week, since I’ve been so busy and haven’t had a ton of time to run or do excercise, I have ended all of my runs with jumping jacks.  I kind of like it.  That was no different today.  After the run was over, I did several sets of jumping jacks and then stretched.  When we came back up, I showered, drank some ice cold water, and made this yummy breakfast.DSC01535  I scrambled egg whites and served them along with a gluten free english muffin with half strawberry preserves and half honey roasted peanut butter.  Now it’s time for bed before getting up early tomorrow so I can try and make a gluten family recipe gluten free and good.  I’ll let you know how it goes tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

