Easy Gluten Free Dinners

So since I’m back to blogging, I thought it would be good to have a theme over the next several weeks.  One thing I think can get hard is cooking easy and healthy gluten free dinners.  I’ve decided that a couple times a week, I will post a meal that I’ve created for my husband and I.  All of these dinners will be easy to cook and will please both the gluten free diner and the family equally. 

For starters, tonight I made something very different, but it is a seasonal food and as fancy as it is, it took very little time.  Tonight’s dinner included pan fried soft shell crabs, roasted broccoli, and creamy herb risotto.  Here’s my plate.

In order to make this dinner, I bought 4 already cleaned soft shell crabs.  I lined a plate with paper towels.  Then rinsed the crabs in water and laid them out on top of the paper towels.  I created a breading mixture out of Gillian’s Gluten Free Breadcrumbs and sprinkles of the following seasonings: garlic, oregano, crushed red pepper flakes, dried onion flakes, cayanne pepper, pepper and salt.  I was afraid the seasoning wouldn’t be enough, but it definitely flavored the bread crumbs well.  I then poured skim milk into a bowl.  I dipped the crabs one by one in the milk and then the breadcrumb mixture.  I heated a pan on medium heat with a little bit of olive oil, and once warm each crab went into the pot.  Cook the crabs on each side for about 4 minutes or until crispy.  Here’s a closeup of the finished crab.  They were really tasty.  For the broccoli, I roasted the broccoli at 450 for about 20 minutes on a foil lined baking pan.  Make sure the pan is sprayed with cooking spray.  It’s also good if a little water from washing the broccoli gets onto the pan.  Sprinkle the broccoli with salt, pepper, and garlic.  This really is the best way to make broccoli, and there is really easy cleanup.  For the rice, we used this box of Lundberg Risotto, and just followed the directions.  This definitely was an easy gourmet type dinner.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

