Leftover Thanksgiving Sandwiches

So you’ve seen my summer Thanksgiving Turkey dinner…now see the beautiful sandwich I made the next day with my leftovers.  It wasn’t that long ago that I would never make sandwiches because the breads were so horrible and dense.  This sandwich had none of those awful characteristics because it is made with Udi’s bread.  It is absolutely the best.  On the sandwich was just turkey and cranberry sauce.  On the side I made a couple of different vegetables I really like.  First, I made squash, zucchini and onions.  For this recipe it takes a lot of squash and zucchini because the vegetables cook down a lot.  I used the following:

  • 5 small zucchini
  • 3 yellow squash
  • 1 medium to large size onion
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • water to coat the bottom of the pot
  •  
  • Here’s everything all cut up and overflowing the pot.  Once you put everything in the pot together, let it cook over medium heat stirring often to make sure nothing burns and the vegetables evenly cook.  Doesn’t that look really springy?!  Another vegetable that I’ve really been enjoying lately is arugula.  It is really simple to make arugula because it just needs to wilt when it’s cooked.  For this recipe I simply simmered 1/4 to 1/2 a cup of chicken broth in a pot with 2 tsp. of crushed garlic and 2 tsp. of chopped onion flakes.  Once the mixture was smoking, I added the arugula and cooked it just until wilted throughout.  Then I added pepper to taste.  This is really nice and green.  Enjoy!
1 Comment

Filed under Gluten Free, recipes

One response to “Leftover Thanksgiving Sandwiches

  1. Tes

    What a wonderful healthy sandwich! I really love it.

Leave a Reply

