Seafood Soup

Tonight’s dinner solved many issues in my kitchen.  First I had lots of vegetables in my refrigerator that either needed to be cooked or tossed in the garbage.  Second this soup can incorporate many fresh ingredients that are great this time of year.  This soup requires a lot of ingredients, but is very simple to make. 

  • 1 28 oz. can of plum tomatoes (the one I used has basil, but this is not necessary)
  • 1 15 oz. can of chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp. of crushed garlic
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 4 5 oz. cans of clams
  • 2 8 oz. jars of clam juice
  • 2 dried bay leaves
  • Onion
  • Pepper
  • Chicken broth or water
  • 1 lb frozen cooked shrimp
  • mixed bag of seafood from Trader Joe’s (includes shrimp, calamari, scallops)
  • 1 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 package of fresh basil torn to smaller pieces
  • 2 tsp. dried oregano (you can use fresh if you have it)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • mushrooms (I used a combination of chopped portabello and shitake mushrooms)

In order to make this soup, I sprayed the bottom of a big soup pot with cooking spray and heated the pan over medium.  Then you’ll want to add the vegetables including onion, pepper, mushrooms, etc along with the garlic.  Cook this alone until soft.  Then I put in some tomatoes I had in my fridge that were getting a little soft.  Once all of this was cooked together a bit and getting soft, I added all of the clams and clam juice.  Depending on how much vegetables you have, you may want to add a bit of water or chicken broth to cover all of the vegetables.  Then add in all seasonings except salt and pepper.  Here’s a look at this point of the process.  Once the soup began to heat throughout and the flavors began to blend together, I added in the frozen seafood mixture from trader joes.  Once that was cooked through, I added the frozen shrimp since they were cooked already.  Then heat until everything is hot and season with salt and pepper.  You really can add whatever vegetables you want to this soup.  It is a very light and flavorful dinner.

On the side I made this.  Doesn’t it look like a nice fresh crusty bread…well it is.  It just happens to be gluten free also.  This is a Joan’s Gluten Free Italian BreadHer products really are some of the best I’ve tasted (and my husband too who doesn’t require a gluten free diet).  In order to make this bread, follow the directions on the back of the package.  I simply defrosted this white frozen loaf on parchment paper in the microwave.  Then I cooked it at 425 for 25 minutes until brown.  Once cooled most of the way, slice the bread and it’s ready to eat.  What could be better than crusty bread and soup?  This meal was a winner!

Leave a comment

Filed under Gluten Free, recipes

Leave a Reply

