Easy Turkey Fajita Tacos

This is a really easy dinner that I made even easier using a few convenience foods.  This is Trader Joe’s taco seasoning mix which is gluten free and made of pure spices and frozen mixed peppers.  These mixed peppers cut down a lot of time cutting for me.  For the taco meat, I used ground turkey breast.  This is the leanest form of turkey you can buy.  To make the fajita tacos I started by sauteing one vidalia onion in a frying pan.  To the onion I added the ground meet and cooked it until it was about half way done.  Then I added the frozen peppers and cooked these down a bit for a couple of minutes.  Then I added the full bag of taco seasoning and one 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes and cooked everything until combined and hot.  You’ll notice that if you follow the directions on the back of the taco seasoning, that I didn’t follow the directions.  I like a lot of vegetables in my tacos, and that’s why I called these fajita tacos.  Also, the package calls for tomato sauce, but I like this better with the chopped tomatoes.  Here’s a look at the final product.  This mixture went into yummy corn tortillas.  Then I topped them with a little lettuce and shredded lite mexican cheese.  Also, on the side we had this vegetable which was quite interesting.  This is a new vegetable from TJ’s.  It’s frozen grilled asparagus.  I couldn’t figure out if I liked it or not.  It sort of tasted burnt, but it also tasted good.  You may want to try it for yourself.

Leave a comment

Filed under Gluten Free, recipes

Leave a Reply

